Angular Houses in Astrology: Your Crossroads

Angular houses are the cross formed by the vertical and horizontal axis in a natal chart. They represent four vital points in astrology that symbolize the outward personality, sense of self, what we seek in others, and our biggest goal.

What can you learn from each of the four angular houses in your chart? Keep reading to find out!


  • The angular houses are formed by the horizon and meridian lines in your natal chart.
  • Your outward persona and your “ideal match” are described by your 1st House and 7th House.
  • How you truly see yourself and your social status are detailed in your 4th House and 10th House.
a picture of space and words that read "angular houses"

What are angular houses in astrology?

Angular houses are formed by the horizon line and meridian line in your natal chart.

a diagram of the angular houses

Also called cardinal houses, the angular houses represent four vital parts of life: your personality, your most private identity, the opposite of you, and who you want to be.

Another way to think of these houses is as balancing points.

Your 1st and 7th Houses, the horizon line, is a balance between who you are and who you aren’t.

And, your 4th and 10th Houses, the meridian, balances the most private side of yourself and the most public one.

Learn more about each of the angular houses below!

1st House Ascendant

Your 1st House is also called the Ascendant and is considered one of the “Big 3” in your birth chart, along with your Sun and Moon.

It details the way you present yourself to the world and how others perceive you.

The sign your 1st House sits in is called your rising sign because it is the sign that was rising on the eastern horizon at that moment.

Understanding your 1st House Ascendant can offer you insight into the vibe you give off to people, but also the unique way you may see the world.

4th House Nadir

Your 4th House Nadir, also known as your Imum Coeli (IC), represents the lowest point in the sky at the time of your birth.

This line represents your most private and inner sense of self, or who you truly believe you are on the inside, and also your foundations in life.

Reading your 4th House IC can help you find clarity in your deepest self and what could bring you a feeling of safety and belonging.

7th House Descendant

The 7th House, also known as your Descendant, is the line opposite of your 1st House Ascendant in your chart.

Your Descendant symbolizes qualities you may not recognize within yourself or traits you don’t think you have.

When seeking a partner, you may be naturally drawn to these qualities in other people because they may seem to “balance you out.”

Learning to work with your 7th House Descendant can shed light on the types of people you are naturally drawn to.

10th House Midheaven

The Midheaven, or the 10th House, symbolizes the highest point in the sky at the time of your birth.

It defines your public role, reputation, career, or highest aspirations, and also how you wish society saw you.

Your 10th House Midheaven can help point you to a place where you can find a sense of achievement, purpose, and fulfillment in life.