Fixed Mode: 4 Tenacious Signs Inspiring You to Hang in There

Traits of the fixed signs, Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, and Aquarius, are a desire to see things through and to resist change. They are reliable and inspired to hold their ground with endurance and solidarity. Fixed signs are stable and persistent, clinging to their strong opinions, but loyal to the end.

So how does the fixed modality influence you and your life? Keep reading to find out more!


  • Fixed mode is one of 3 quadruplicates in astrology.
  • The energy of fixed mode is persistent and reliable.
  • Fixed signs are Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, and Aquarius.
women running a marathon and words that read "determined fixed mode and the signs"

Fixed Mode in Astrology Meaning

The fixed, cardinal, and mutable modes make up the quadruplicities, or qualities, in astrology and they describe three different ways of approaching how to take action or react to what life throws at you.

The signs are split evenly into fixed, cardinal, and mutable modes, and each has a distinct way of reacting to what life throws at you.

For the fixed mode, this is to continue what has already been started.

For the fixed mode, this is to continue what has already been started.

Each mode symbolizes a part of a season, and fixed represents the long, enduring middle of a season when it seems as though it will last for an eternity.

Fixed Mode Traits

Fixed mode energy is a drive to keep going in the same direction and pushes for endurance and stability.

Does something need to be done?

It’s the fixed mode that shouts: “Hold the line! Keep going! We can see this through!

Fixed mode shapes its 4 signs with these tenacious traits:

  • Determined
  • Persistent
  • Stable
  • Reliable
  • Resistant to change
  • Efficient
  • Trustworthy
  • Stubborn

How Fixed Mode Affects You

If it weren’t for fixed energy, brilliant and innovative ideas, new habits, and even new loves in our life would wither on the vine with no one tending to it or seeing it through.

With no endurance or continued effort, nothing would ever be finished.

astrological chart showing how the fixed signs form a cross
The 4 fixed mode signs in astrology.

In the same way that all of the planets are represented in us, all of us have some fixed energy.

It is just more notable for some and shines through as resolute determination that pushes you to keep putting one foot in front of the other and move in the same direction.

Fixed Mode Signs

There are 4 Zodiac signs shaped by fixed mode.

Each of the fixed signs represents a different season and the way each of the signs expresses this energy is a little bit different.

And, because the four signs are also modified by yin or yang energy, an element, and its ruling planet, this desire to continue what has been started shines through in a different way in each one.


Fixed Mode in Taurus

Taurus’ fixed modality combines with the earth element and is shaped by the sign’s ruling planet, Venus.

The earth element is focused, committed, and stable and Venus inspires you to find beauty wherever you can find it and prioritize your relationships.

For Taurus, fixed mode influences you to want to stick with what is familiar.

With a sense of inner calm, Taurus wants to find stability and cling tightly to it.

Taurus doesn’t get too excited about new changes or adventures and instead finds joy in steady relationships and stable life.

Taurus’ DualityYin: calm, reflective
Taurus’ ModalityFixed: persistent, efficient
Taurus’ ElementEarth: practical, stable
Taurus’ Ruling PlanetVenus: relationship-driven, aesthetic
Taurus’ SeasonSpring

Fixed Mode in Leo

Leo’s fixed modality mixes with the fire element and is inspired by Leo’s ruling planet, the Sun.

Fire is dynamic and energizing and the Sun encourages you to find your inner power and shine it brightly.

For Leo, the fixed energy urges you to continuously express what is inside the world.

With incredible determination and passion, Leo encourages you to put yourself out there on the stage of life for all to see and persist no matter how your gifts are received.

Leo’s DualityYang: assertive, active
Leo’s ModalityFixed: persistent, efficient
Leo’s ElementFire: intense, passionate
Leo’s Ruling PlanetSun: magnetic, confident
Leo’s SeasonSummer

Fixed Mode in Scorpio

Scorpio’s fixed modality combines with the water element and energy from the sign’s ruling planets, Pluto and Mars.

Water is emotionally deep and perceptive. Pluto transforms through death and rebirth and Mars asserts itself with courage.

With Scorpio, its fixed modality urges you to seek the honest truth, no matter how ugly it is.

With uncompromising persistence, Scorpio asks you to seek hidden truths that need to be pulled from the darkness into the light.

Scorpio is committed to feeling the full range of emotions that these uncovered truths bring to the surface.

Scorpio’s DualityYin: calm, reflective
Scorpio’s ModalityFixed: persistent, efficient
Scorpio’s ElementWater: emotional, imaginative
Scorpio’s Ruling PlanetsPluto: transforming, Mars: courageous
Scorpio’s SeasonAutumn

Fixed Mode in Aquarius

Aquarius’ fixed mode mixes with the air element and is shaped by Aquarius’ ruling planets, Uranus and Saturn.

Air is logical and clever. Uranus asks us to follow our own path and Saturn encourages us to be self-reliant and seek respect from within.

In Aquarius, the fixed mode inspires you to always be true to yourself, no matter what the consequences.

With intelligence, endurance, and maturity Aquarius encourages you to use skills of reasoning to determine your own set of ideals, and then hold strongly to them, regardless of what anyone else thinks.

Aquarius’ DualityYang: assertive, active
Aquarius’ ModalityFixed: persistent, efficient
Aquarius’ ElementAir: intellectual, logical
Aquarius’ Ruling PlanetUranus: unique, Saturn: challenging
Aquarius’ SeasonWinter


What does fixed sign mean in astrology?

In astrology, all of the Zodiac signs are divided into 3 modes (or qualities) that describe how a sign starts things or adapts to change. Fixed is one of those 3 modes and so the term “fixed sign” refers to the signs of that mode, Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, and Aquarius.

What is fixed mode in astrology?

Fixed mode in astrology is one way to classify signs of the Zodiac and represents a nature that is persistent, determined to finish what has been started and keep it moving in the same direction.

What Zodiac signs are fixed mode signs?

There are 4 fixed mode signs and they are Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, and Aquarius.

What does it mean when fixed mode is dominant?

When the fixed mode is dominant in a chart, it means that combined, the fixed signs of Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, and Aquarius are represented more in significant positions than the signs of the cardinal or mutable modes are.

Other articles you may enjoy:
Cardinal Modality
Mutable Modality